• Home
  • Third Judicial Nominating Commission to Meet October 19, 2021

Third Judicial Nominating Commission to Meet October 19, 2021

18 Oct 2021 10:29 AM | Amanda Kohlman (Administrator)

The 3rd Judicial District Nominating Commission will convene via telephone conference at 9 a.m. Tuesday, October 19, to discuss the nomination process to fill a district judge vacancy. 

The vacancy will be created when Chief Judge Richard Anderson retires December 11. 

The 3rd Judicial District is composed of Shawnee County.

Public access

The meeting is open to the public. To listen:

call 1-877-400-9499; and

enter conference code 2199381974

Any person with disability who requires accommodation to access the nominating commission meeting should notify the judicial branch ADA coordinator as early as possible:

ADA Coordinator

TTY at 711

Eligibility requirements
A nominee for district judge must be:

  • at least 30 years old;
  • a lawyer admitted to practice in Kansas and engaged in the practice of law for at least five years, whether as a lawyer, judge, or full-time teacher at an accredited law school; and
  • a resident of the judicial district at the time of taking office and while holding office.

The nominating commission seeks nominations and then meets to interview nominees. Interviews are open to the public.  

Nominees to governor
The nominating commission will select from three to five people whose names will be submitted to the governor to fill the position according to statutory qualification and residency requirements. The governor has 60 days after receiving the names to decide whom to appoint.
If there are not three nominees
 who reside in the judicial district who are deemed qualified by the commission, the commission may consider nominees who reside outside the district.

Term of office
After serving one year in office, a new judge must stand for a retention vote in the next general election to remain in the position. If retained, the incumbent will serve a four-year term.

Nominating commission
The 3rd Judicial District Nominating Commission consists of Justice Caleb Stegall as the nonvoting chair; Toby McCullough, Rossville; Daniel Crow, Thomas Lemon, Randall Phillips, Rebecca Sanders, and Eric Stafford, all of Topeka.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software